Who We Are

"Transfusion de sang de chèvre" (1892) by Jules Adler

2023 Board of Trustees

Mission Statement

The Williamsburg Community Foundation enhances the quality of life in greater Williamsburg by connecting people with causes that matter, managing charitable funds, and providing grants and scholarships for our community’s most pressing needs and promising opportunities.


  • Community Focus
  • Diversity and Inclusiveness
  • Education
  • Innovation and Flexibility
  • Integrity and Stewardship


  • PROVIDE charitable resources to greater Williamsburg through community focused grants and scholarships;
  • REPRESENT all members of the community by engaging diverse individuals and groups in the work of the Foundation;
  • ADVANCE the benefits of philanthropy through education, exchange of information and participation;
  • INSPIRE participation in philanthropy throughout the community by matching donors with community needs and opportunities, providing flexible ways to give for professional advisors and their clients, and working with civic, nonprofit, government, and community groups to build innovative funds that fulfill their goals; and
  • SERVE as a responsible steward of charitable funds and donor intentions.

Vision Statement:

A vibrant community with a commitment to ensure that everyone has the opportunity to thrive.

"Transfusion de sang de chèvre" (1892) by Jules Adler

Staff (Left to Right): Van Ruckman, Ginny Gasink, Lee Folsom, Nancy Sullivan, Bob Phipps

Get More Info

Contact our office at office@williamsburgcommunityfoundation.org

Visit Us

From I-64 east, take EXIT 242A toward WILLIAMSBURG/ JAMESTOWN. Proceed for 5 miles on VA-199, then turn left onto Jamestown Road. Just past the Colony Square Shopping Center, turn right. Take the first left. Our office is in the rear of the office complex, suite 103.

Board of Trustees

Dr. Kathleen F. Slevin

Vice Chair
Alison V. Lennarz

John H. Haldeman

Joseph D. Harrow

The Rev. Jan M. Brown
David E. Bush, CPA, CFP, PFS
Dian T. Calderone, MTX, CPA
Thomas A. Cardwell III, Ph.D.
Loretta K. Conen
Anthony Conyers III
John A. Fogarty
Lisa Lucas
Aashish Matani
Melinda B. Morgan
Paul W. Muse
Rick Overy
Iris C. Porush
Margaret Beck Pritchard
Dr. Henry K. Ranger, PharmD
Carter S. Sonders
Scott Stabler
Barbara Engs Watson
Benming "Benny" Zhang

Honorary Trustees
Colin G. Campbell
Cliff Fleet
Katherine A. Rowe

President & Chief Executive Officer
Nancy Cote ́ Sullivan


President & Chief Executive Officer
Nancy Cote ́ Sullivan

Office Manager
Bob Phipps

Program Officer
Ginny Gasink

Van Ruckman

Office Hours

Mon-Fri, 8:30am to 4:30pm
(Or by Appointment)